First Day

I have been reading about essential oils, specifically the Young Living brand, for a while now. A few friends of mine from college have started using them and LOVE them! They are always going on about how their families have benefited from using them and while a tiny bit skeptical I wanted to learn more.

My father passed away in 2007 after a long battle with liver cancer, and because of this (while I know it helps and has it’s place) I cringe every time we have to break out the Tylenol or other medications to help the kids overcome different sicknesses. So, in my mind if the essential oils can help prevent us from getting to the point of having to use those medicines at least a few times it is a win in my book!

Being a Stay at Home Mom (SAHM) I walk a tight line of what I can spend outside of our monthly budget. I saved up my “laundry monies” and income from crafting things for people and jumped right in with The Young Living Premium Starter Kit. I am all about a good deal and this one packed the biggest punch. I could not make up my mind to buy one or two essential oils to start with and this kit has the Everyday Oils collection– TEN different oils to get you started! It also includes a home diffuser and literature to help you get to know the company and a selection of their most popular oils and oil blends.

Image

We received our box on Saturday and when the kids when down for nap my husband and I sat down and read through all of the paperwork and smelled each of the oils. I had been congested since Thursday so we decided to try Thieves in the diffuser first. Here is the description from the website:

Thieves® was created based on research about four thieves in France who covered themselves with cloves, rosemary, and other aromatics while robbing plague victims. This proprietary essential oil blend was university tested for its cleansing abilities. It is highly effective in supporting the immune system and good health.*

The instructions say to do 8-12 drops in the diffuser. Whew! Was it strong! It smelled amazing, the cloves remind me of holidays Thanksgiving and Christmas, which is always a good thing! (After more reading the bottle says to diffuse for only ten minutes up to three times a day…maybe this is why it seemed so strong)

That afternoon when the husband went for a run we had him inhale some Peppermint. Since I accidentally got some on his nose, oops, he said he could smell it for a while during his run. It was just a short two-mile run so I don’t think we really learned much, but we felt cool and “crunchy.” I am kidding, but baby steps right?

We picked up some Coconut Oil that night so we could dilute some Peace and Calming oil blend on the kids feet before bedtime. We ate at Buffalo Wild Wings for dinner and did not know until we got there that it was a UFC fight night…can we just say that may in itself be a perfect description of “an overactive and stressful day.”

Peace & Calming® is a gentle, fragrant blend. When diffused, it helps calm tensions and uplift the spirit, promoting relaxation and a deep sense of peace. When massaged on the bottoms of the feet, it can be a wonderful prelude to a peaceful night’s rest. Peace & Calming may be especially calming and comforting to young children after an overactive and stressful day.

This was, as the title says, our first swing at these oils and I am naturally a paranoid, analytical person (read: crazy), so I was nervous to apply an oil that needed to be diluted. We bought the Organic Coconut Oil from the Greenwise section in Publix after more research I learned I should have bought the Virgin Coconut Oil instead. I have seen Coconut Oil talked about on all social media sites and everyone seems to be in love with it. In my head, because it is called an oil I was thinking it would be a lotion texture or like a white olive oil but it is actually solid. I just scraped some out and put a drop of oil and mixed it all in the palms of my hands and put it on. I did not put socks on the boy because I knew they wouldn’t stay but I did for my girl. They were out within ten minutes, and this is where I googled “Can you overdose your children with Peace & Calming.” Don’t worry, apparently I did not! Hooray!

The kids and the husband slept like rocks but I didn’t because I think my brain was still processing. I wish I had diffused some Thieves in our room while we were sleeping because my throat was sore Sunday morning and my congestion was back. And that was our first day in a nutshell! I am obviously still just learning and am in no way a professional herbologist so please be careful using oils!

Here are a few links to helpful blogs that I read before I got started:

Myra’s Day in the Life of an Oiler Series

Myra’s Essential Oils Links Page

Young Living’s Essential Oils Guide

Young Living’s Essential Oils Explorer

Leave a Reply

